Serving the Community Since 1987

321 N. Clark St., Suite 500, Chicago, IL 60654

insurance@bullockinc.com | (312) 939-5232

News and Information

Michigan - COVID-19 and Reporting to Work Restrictions

On December 29, 2020, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed legislation (SB 1258) prohibiting an employee who tests positive for COVID-19 from reporting to work until they are advised by a health care provider or public health professional that they have completed their isolation period or met all the following conditions:

  • 24 hours passed since their fever ended and passed without the use of fever-reducing medications;
  • Their isolation period ended and they are no longer subject to an isolation order; and
  • Their principal COVID-19 symptoms improved.

Employees who have not tested positive but display principal COVID-19 symptoms must not report to work until either:

  • They receive a negative diagnostic test; or
  • All the following apply:
    • Their isolation period has ended since their principal COVID-19 symptoms started.
    • Their principal COVID-19 symptoms improved.
    • 24 hours passed since their fever subsided and passed without the use of fever‑reducing medication.

Employees who had close contact with someone who tests positive for COVID-19 must not report to work until one of the following conditions are met:

  • Their quarantine period passed (since they last had close contact with the individual).
  • They were advised by a health care provider or public health professional that their quarantine period is done.  

The following employees may report to work even if they would be subject to quarantine but have no symptoms and did not test positive when it is necessary and their presence would not cause serious harm or danger to the public:

  • Healthcare professionals, healthcare facility workers, and first responders.
  • Child protective service employees and child caring institution workers.
  • Adult foster care facility workers.
  • Correctional facility workers.
  • Essential energy services workers.
  • Essential public health services and health law enforcement employees.

The law took effect on December 29, 2020.